Let’s talk New Years.
Ok, so I’m pretty sure we have all been guilty of this at some point in our lives but why do we feel like a new start comes every new year, or on a Monday, or the start of a new month. It’s silly really, if you wanna change just change, even if you start at 6pm on a Thursday evening, it doesn’t matter. JUST MAKE THAT CHANGE.
New Years resolutions are the worst. They set you up for failure. We never maintain them for 12 months, that’s impossible because you don’t know what’s coming. Nobody does. We make these promises to ourselves to do something, change something, be someone else when really all we need to do is stop trying to force changes.
Every year I make a resolution. When I was younger it was things like stop eating chocolate or save money or something else just as unrealistic. There is no way I can not eat chocolate for 12 months!!! Then as I got older I started trying to be more vague so they would be things like embrace the fun times in life or Stop saying no to new adventures. Really?? Ffs! That’s not possible either. Sometimes you HAVE TO SAY NO! It’s not feasible to always just fuck off on an adventure. We have responsibilities, we have jobs, we have bills like most fucking adults.
So this year, I’m trying not to make a resolution but I suppose not making any more resolutions is in itself making a resolution. Shit! Failed already and it’s not even new years.
Over the last few years I have tried a number of things to help relieve my mind of the chaos of ADHD. I get into these things and inevitably after a few months I stop doing them. This is one of the things with ADHD nothing is maintainable…..NOTHING!
So, my non new years resolution is going to be the following:
Embrace the chaos and inevitable failings, enjoy the wins and allow the losses. Do what I want for as long as my mind can do it. Be unforgivably myself as much as possible but don’t berate myself when I put on an act to survive some situations. Love whole heartedly. Cherish moments that make me smile and laugh and love and try not to wallow in the moments that make me sad or angry. Just be in the moment. Stop overthinking but also keep planning for a multitude of variable futures. Basically just BE!!!
Happy New Year peeps. Remember, it’s just another fucking day…….
Love Ange xx
Leave a comment